Home › Polymarket vs Augur
Facts checked September 25, 2026 against each platform's own pages, filings and news reports · numbered sources below
Augur was one of the first applications built on Ethereum: its creators sold REP tokens for over $5 million in 2015, it went live in July 2018 with bets in ether, and version 2 followed in July 2020 with markets in the DAI stablecoin [1][2][3]. There is no Augur trading app today: augur.net says an Augur-native market app has not relaunched, while the Lituus Foundation leads a revival begun in 2025 and Augur's first fork ended on August 3, 2026 [4][5][6]. Polymarket.com is a live exchange: an order book with pUSD collateral since April 28, 2026 and markets resolved through the UMA optimistic oracle [7][8][9].
| Polymarket | Augur | |
|---|---|---|
| Who runs it | Two products: the international Polymarket.com, and Polymarket US, operated by QCX LLC [10][11] | Contracts on Ethereum; the not-for-profit Forecast Foundation developed Augur and launched it in 2018, and since 2025 the Lituus Foundation, a Delaware non-profit, leads a revival [1][5][22] |
| Regulation | Polymarket.com says it is not regulated by the CFTC; Polymarket US is a CFTC designated contract market and clearing organization [10][12] | Not stated in the documents we checked; augur.net is information only and offers no access to the Augur protocol [22] |
| Who can use it | Polymarket.com is blocked in 39 countries, including the US, UK, France and Germany; US residents use the separate Polymarket US app (18+, identity check) [13][14][11] | No Augur-native trading app today; in the v2 design anyone could create a market, and anyone holding REP could report and dispute outcomes [4][3] |
| Money | Polymarket.com: pUSD, a token backed 1:1 by USDC on Polygon; Polymarket US: US dollars [8][12] | Bets in ether at the 2018 launch and in DAI from v2 (2020); REP, the token used for reporting, continues after the 2026 fork as REPv2_Yes_1, which Kraken lists as AUGUR [1][2][4] |
| Trading fees | Polymarket.com: takers pay shares x rate x p x (1-p), with a rate from 0 (geopolitics) to 0.07 (crypto); Polymarket US: takers pay 0.0695 x contracts x p x (1-p) and makers get a rebate [15][16] | Augur v2 design: fees only when shares were settled with the market contract, a creator fee set by each market's creator plus a reporting fee set dynamically and paid to REP holders who took part in reporting [3] |
| Deposits and withdrawals | Polymarket.com: crypto deposits from several chains, no Polymarket fee; Polymarket US: card or ACH up to $50,000 a day, wire from $1,000, free withdrawals [17][15][18][19] | None through augur.net, which offers no access to the protocol; the window to move REP into the post-fork token closed on August 3, 2026 [22][6] |
| Limits | Polymarket US sets no trading size limits [20] | Not stated in the documents we checked |
| Markets | Politics, sports, crypto, economics, culture, weather, tech and more [12][15] | In the v2 design, any future event: the creator chose a resolution source and posted a validity bond in DAI and a creation bond in REP; no Augur-native market app has relaunched [3][4] |
| How markets settle | Polymarket.com: UMA optimistic oracle with a 2-hour challenge window and a UMA vote on disputes; Polymarket US: the exchange applies each market's listed sources [9][21] | In Augur v2, still running on Ethereum, REP holders decide: the designated reporter has 24 hours to report, then any REP holder can dispute by staking REP in rounds of up to 7 days, and a dispute bond of 2.5% of all REP forks Augur into one universe per outcome; the first fork ran from April 8 to August 3, 2026 [3][23][6] |
Related: How Polymarket markets resolve · UMA optimistic oracle
All current prices: Polymarket odds today · fees on a real order: Polymarket fee calculator · where Polymarket is available
Not as a trading app: augur.net says no Augur-native prediction-market application has relaunched and the site is not a trading interface. The Lituus Foundation began rebooting Augur in 2025 after years of dormancy; it says Augur Lituus, a redesigned oracle, is in development with ChainSafe, and it also funds Dark Florist, an independent team building a censorship-resistant prediction market. [4][24][23]
Augur's first fork, its last resort for disputes. On April 8, 2026 community member Micah Zoltu began a dispute over a market on whether NASA's Artemis II mission would lift off, and REP holders then chose a universe by migrating their tokens until August 3, 2026. Of 11,000,000 REP, 6,547,546.66 migrated, almost all to the Yes universe, whose token REPv2_Yes_1 Kraken lists as AUGUR. [6][4]
On Augur, REP holders decide: a market's designated reporter reports first, any REP holder can dispute by staking REP, successful disputers earn a 40% return, and a large enough dispute forks Augur. Polymarket.com uses the UMA optimistic oracle: anyone can propose an outcome with a bond, typically $750 in pUSD, there is a 2-hour challenge period, and a second dispute goes to a vote of UMA token holders. [3][9]
Augur v2 charged fees only when shares were settled with the market contract: a creator fee chosen by each market's creator plus a reporting fee paid to REP holders who took part in reporting. Polymarket.com charges takers shares x rate x p x (1-p), with a rate from 0 to 0.07 by category. [3][15]
More comparisons: Polymarket vs Kalshi (live odds) · Polymarket vs PredictIt · Polymarket vs Manifold · Polymarket vs Robinhood · Polymarket vs DraftKings Predictions · Polymarket vs Crypto.com · Polymarket vs ForecastEx (Interactive Brokers) · Polymarket vs Betfair Exchange · Polymarket vs Novig · Polymarket vs Underdog Predict · Polymarket vs Limitless · Polymarket vs Myriad · Polymarket vs FanDuel Predicts · Polymarket vs Coinbase · Polymarket vs PrizePicks · Polymarket vs Fanatics Markets · Polymarket vs Metaculus. Polymarket View is independent and not affiliated with Polymarket, Augur or any exchange. Rules, fees and availability change; check each platform before you sign up. Educational information, not financial advice.